Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Vincent Laforet’s 2014 Directing Motion Tour

May 6 - July 13

| $285

Camera direction and motion tour will cover 32 US cities in nine weeks
Vincent Laforet, Pulitzer Prize-winner and DGA Director, will be launching his Spring and Summer Directing Motion Tour May 6, 2014 that will begin in Philadelphia, end in New York, and hit 30 other major cities in just 9 weeks. Motion is one of Laforet’s main obsessions but Laforet believes that there must be motivated and purposeful camera movements that not only captures a director’s vision but also elicits an emotional response from viewers.
Laforet’s Directing Motion Tour was created with the aspiring filmmaker in mind. For weeks Laforet studied 100 of the best films, analyzing extensively, the motion magic created by directors such as Hitchcock, Spielberg, Scorsese, Welles, and many others. After 300 hours of research, with over 400 examples to share, Laforet designed a six-theme daytime workshop and an evening seminar catering to filmmakers of all levels.
Laforet stresses that this will not be a daytime workshop limited to his explanations of motion theory but that participating students will be able to put what they are learning into practice with some of the most advanced cinema technology. The techniques taught by Laforet can be applied with minimal equipment to any film project such as interview setups, promo shoots, live-event coverage, short films, documentaries, and more. Laforet will also be discussing principles behind his own work including his latest commercial for Nike.
“I can also tell you from experience, that once you attend this workshop, you will go from being a passive viewer to an active viewer and that you’ll never be able to see things the same way again,” declares Laforet.

Laforet is known for his avant-garde approach to filmmaking and storytelling. Reverie, a Laforet directed short film was the first to be shot with the Canon 5D Mark II.  Later, he was chosen as one of the first filmmakers to shoot with the Canon C300. Laforet has been a cinematographer and director for clients such as Sony, Adobe, Pepsi, Nike and more. Vanity Fair, The New York Times Magazine, National Geographic, Sports Illustrated, Time and Life Magazine are a few of the publications that have commissioned Laforet’s work. In 2010 he was a three-time winner of the Cannes Lions International Advertising Festival. Laforet is considered a pioneer in the field of HD-capable DSLR cameras and is renowned for his innovative tilt shift and aerial photography.

To sign up, and reserve your spot visit: www.DirectingMotion.com

TOUR SCHEDULE

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Philadelphia

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Newark

Saturday, May 10, 2014

Boston

Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Columbus

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Detroit

Saturday, May 17th, 2014

Indianapolis

Sunday, May 18, 2014

Chicago

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

St. Louis

Thursday, May 22, 2-14

Minneapolis

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Denver

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Salt Lake City

Saturday, May 31, 2014

Vancouver

Sunday, June 1st, 2014

Seattle

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Portland

Friday, June 6th, 2014

San Jose

Sunday, June 8th, 2014

San Francisco

Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Sacramento

Saturday, June 14, 2014

Irvine

Sunday, June 15, 2014

L.A/Burbank

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

San Diego

Thursday, June 19th, 2014

Phoenix

Saturday, June 21, 2014

Austin

Sunday, June 22, 2014

Dallas

Tuesday, June 24. 2014

Houston

Thursday, June 26, 2014

New Orleans

Saturday June 28, 2014

Nashville

Sunday, June 29, 2014

Atlanta

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Ft. Lauderdale

Tuesday, July 8, 2014

Charlotte

Saturday, July 12, 2014

Washington, DC

Sunday, July 13, 2014

NYC

 

pinit fg en rect gray 20 Vincent Laforets 2014 Directing Motion Tour

Details

Start:
May 6
End:
July 13
Cost:
$285
Event Categories:
,
Event Tags:
, ,
Website:
http://www.DirectingMotion.com